Military Watches
Find us on Facebook


Printer Friendly VersionPrinter Friendly VersionSend to a FriendSend to a Friend

Eight Wimp Out, Won’t Oppose Motion to Debate
By Harold Hutchison

Gun-grabbing Democrats in the Senate may be able to bypass Rand Paul’s filibuster with a cloture vote as early as Thursday as at least eight Republican Senators announced they would not support a filibuster on a motion to proceed. Among the Senators announcing that they would not back a filibuster are: Sens. John McCain (Ariz.), Dean Heller (Nev.), Johnny Isakson (Ga.), Lindsey Graham (S.C.), Susan Collins (Maine), Pat Toomey (Pa.), Mark Kirk (Ill.) and Kelly Ayotte (N.H.).

Democrats are seeking to short-circuit an event like Senator Paul’s nearly 13-hour filibuster of John Brannan’s nomination to head the CIA. Paul’s speech arguably shifted public opinion on the use of drones on American soil.

Earlier this year, 41 Senators voted against the confirmation of former Senator Chuck Hagel as Secretary of Defense. Had all of them voted against cloture, Hagel’s nomination would have been blocked. Heritage Action has already announced it will score the filibuster vote.