Military Watches
Find us on Facebook

Eight U.S. Army Air Forces personnel to receive the POW Medal

Printer Friendly VersionPrinter Friendly VersionSend to a FriendSend to a Friend

Air Force Chief of Staff Gen. Mark A. Welsh III will present the Prisoner of War Medal to eight World War II era U.S. Army Air Forces personnel during a ceremony at the Pentagon auditorium, Wednesday, April 30 at 10 a.m. EDT.

The Secretary of the Air Force Deborah Lee James authorized the award of the POW Medal to 143 USAAF airmen who were interned in the Wauwilermoos, Switzerland, prison camp during World War II.

Eight recipients, listed below, will travel to the Pentagon to receive the award:
* Lieutenant Colonel (retired) James I. Misuraca
* Major (retired) James V. Moran
* First Lieutenant Paul J. Gambaiana
* First Lieutenant James F. Mahon
* Technical Sergeant Alva H. Moss
* Staff Sergeant John M. Fox
* Sergeant William G. Blackburn
* Sergeant George E. Thursby